Chickadees

Walking out to my snow covered backyard this morning to feed the birds (I love watching the birds from my breakfast table or while doing the dishes), I heard the chickadees calling to each other from their perches in the trees….pheebee, pheebee….could this be a foretaste of spring???  Usually the winter world is silent with just a few low chirps sounding, as if the birds are thinking…OK, it’s cold and we’re going to keep our calls to minimum energy level to conserve all the warmth we can.

This reminds me of a way God works in those who believe…in the piercing icy darkness of the winters of our lives, He brings faint echos of spring to give us a taste of things to come, to say…keep putting one foot in front of the other, keep slogging through the mud and the mire, I am with you, I will lift you out of the slimy pit and set your feet on a Rock (Psalm 40:2)….there is hope from another dimension when there is no hope in the one in which we live.  Oh God, keep holding on to us when we feel like we have gone past the end of our ropes, when our eyes are blindfolded by pain and confusion….thank You that You are there and are at work answering our plea.  “If I say, ‘Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,’ even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.” Psalm 139:11-12

My mind is amazed and my heart is full of gratitude to the One who has saved me.  Who would have thought I could write what I have just written?  Who would have thought I could even hear the birds and the still, small voice of my Master with such peaceful clarity?  Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Chickadees

  1. Pingback: Are the birds a gift? | He has set my feet on a Rock

Leave a Reply

