Sealed

Ephesians 1:13b-14 has been a passage in the Bible that goes right over my head.  It says, “Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.”  Right or wrong, verses like these I tend to skim over.  There are others that speak more deeply to me; I figure the ones I don’t understand, God will reveal their meanings to me when I need to know it and when I am ready to receive it.  Much to my delight, He gave me an epiphany regarding what it means to be “sealed” while studying last week’s lesson for Bible Study Fellowship (a weekly, international Bible study I attend…it is quite in depth and thought provoking) which helped bring those words to life.

Here is the question:  Look up the verb “to seal” in the dictionary.  How does this definition encourage you concerning the Holy Spirit’s work?  I like looking up words in the dictionary that have spiritual connotations because  it often opens up new ways of thinking regarding their definitions, so with anticipation I googled “seal”.   This is what I found:  A device or substance that is used to join two things together so as to prevent them from coming apart or to prevent anything from passing between them.  Being a fan of HGTV, immediately a picture came to mind of plumbing pipes being joined and sealed together correctly on a show like Holmes on Homes or Holmes Inspection.  Since the show’s host always makes it right (fellow viewers will know what I mean), we know those pipes will not come apart and nothing will be able to pass between them.  Aha, I thought!  Here is something that speaks to me!  The Holy Spirit seals our connection with God so it will not come apart and so nothing can pass between us.  And, significantly, that seal is different from joined pipes here on earth which will eventually fall apart due to the eroding caused by time (in spite of the best efforts of Mike Holmes); our seal in the Holy Spirit is for eternity.

Oh, joy!  I am safe!  I am everlastingly sealed to my God and nothing can pass between us and nothing can cause us to be torn apart.  Romans 8:38-39 is indeed true, “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Having never known love that was unconditional and guaranteed, there has been an underlying current of fear deep in my heart of losing love, losing my position in my family, losing what attention I could glean from the troubled lives of my parents.  This has translated into all relationships including mine with God, so that whatever is said to the contrary I tend not to believe because my experience has told me otherwise.  But, now I can rest assured in God’s relationship with me, because my spiritual eyes have been opened and the mystery of the Holy Spirit sealing me to the Lover of My Soul forever and ever has become reality.

2 thoughts on “Sealed

Leave a Reply

