Peace that passes understanding

A friend who has been following my blog asked yesterday how I was doing and if I was still struggling with sleep.  After explaining to her that in the midst of this journey there has been an underlying peace that has passed all understanding (Philippians 4:7, John 14:27, John 16:33) and that since God’s healing work, as explained in Will she sleep or won’t she sleep that is the question and Part 2 of that story, I have been sleeping well, she suggested it might be good to share this on my blog.  So I am.  I also apologize to you dear readers and prayers for assuming you would understand from my posts that in spite of the pain of the journey (or maybe in part because of it) life is good.  Or perhaps I should say God is good, therefore my journey is good (there was a time when I could have never said that).  He has brought me so far in the last 28 years.  Even recently I would not have been able to handle the places where He is now taking me.  But, where I am weak He has given me His strength (2 Corinthians 12:9) and increased my faith beyond anything I could ever have imagined (Ephesians 3:20).  My relationship with Him and knowledge of His love and my security in Him has grown much deeper and wider (Ephesians 3:16-19) even though I know I have barely scratched the surface of the mystery of His being (and that only because of His mercy and grace).  And, the beauty of it is there is more to come!  Years from now, looking back at this time, I will say to myself, how little I knew and how far I have come.  He always desires to take us deeper into Himself, and since He is infinite and eternal there will never be an end to this awe-filled journey of discovery.

So, with some trepidation I say I am doing well, for I know around the next bend there will be more difficult things to face.  But, I also know my God is faithful and He will accomplish His purposes and achieve what He desires (Isaiah 55:11).  Even though I often do not understand the way of the wind of His Spirit (John 3:8), I know His purposes and desires are good.  With His help, I can rest in His boat as the waves crash around it, confident He will either calm the storm or bring me through to the other side.  My God is faithful, and He will do it (1 Thessalonians 5:24).

Leave a Reply

